What is IFSC Code?

The Indian Financial System Code (IFSC) is an alphanumeric code that uniquely identifies a bank-branch participating in the three main electronic funds settlement systems in India:

  1. the Real Time Gross Settlement (RTGS)
  2. the National Electronic Funds Transfer (NEFT)
  3. the Immediate Payment Service (IMPS)

This is an 11-character code with the first four alphabetic characters representing the bank, and the last six characters (usually numeric, but can be alphabetic) representing the branch. The fifth character is 0 (zero) and reserved for future use. IFSC is used by the NEFT & RTGS systems to route the messages to the destination banks/branches.

IFSC Code: 11 Characters